Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate. (CCC,no. 1536)

The sacrament of Holy Orders is one of the earliest signs in Scripture of a "laying of hands" and a "commissioning" to certain called individuals to serve as ministers of the Church. Young men who are interested in pursuing a possible calling to the priesthood are directed to contact the vocation direction at the Diocese. Older, married men might want to consider a calling to serve the people of their parish through the permanent Diaconate. Information on the formation program is available on the diocesan web site.

Visit the Diocese Vocations Office

Visit the Diocese Discernment Page


and like living stones be yourselves built into a spiritual house, to be a holy priesthood, to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. (1 Peter 2:5)

Online Giving

Online Giving

Secure and Convenient Donate now!